Advisory Group

The Advisory Group acts as a reservoir of knowledge, skills and networks for the project. It acts as a sounding board and an exchange point for promotion and linkage into broader community. Its functions are:
  • To review quality and standards processes for the inclusion of material in the project;
  • To contribute to content and function;
  • To advise on service, system and community issues relating to project and their potential effects on the project;
  • To ensure that the needs of possible users of the project are recognised and included;
  • To maximise collaboration with communities; and 
  • To advise on the marketing and branding of the project.

Advisory Group Members

Phase 1 2014-2017:

  • Professor Imogen Mitchell is Deputy Dean at the Australian National University Medical School and an Intensive Care Physician in Canberra. She is a  former Harkness Fellow, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health.
  • Professor Katherine Clark is Medical Director of Palliative Care, Calvary Mater Newcastle, Conjoint Professor, School of Medicine & Public Health, University of Newcastle.
  • Dr Alison Russell is Director of the Centre for Education and Training at the Women's and Children's Health Network in South Australia. 
  • Dr Chris Drummond is Senior Palliative Medicine Consultant, Lyell McEwin Hospital and Central Adelaide Palliative Care.
  • Ms Kate Munro is Hunter New England Health’s End-of-Life Care Coordinator.
  • Ms Sue Hanson is the National Director of Clinical Services, Little Company of Mary Health Care (Calvary). She led the development and national implementation of quality standards assessment programs in palliative care and held an inaugural Area Director of Clinical Governance position in NSW.
  • Ms Jennifer Hill is the Senior Project Officer for the recognising and responding to clinical Deterioration Program at the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACQSHC). She has also been involved in developing the Consensus Statement (2015-2016).
  • Ms Naomi Poole is the Program Manager for the Partnering with Consumers program at ACQSHC (2016-).
  • Dr Nicola Dunbar is Director of Strategy & Development at ACQSHC. She has responsibility for the Commission’s work regarding partnering with consumers and the deteriorating patient.
  • Ms Kim Devery is Head of the Discipline of Palliative and Supportive Services, Flinders University and the Project Lead.
  • Associate Professor Jennifer Tieman is CareSearch Director and Associate Professor in the Discipline of Palliative and Supportive Services, Flinders University.

Last updated 14 November 2017