National Projects

National Palliative Care Strategy

In November 2010 the Australian Health Ministers’ Conference endorsed the National Palliative Care Strategy 2010. The Strategy is the policy document that the Australian Government and State and Territory governments use to guide palliative care development across Australia. Four goal areas have been identified within the strategy, namely:

  • Awareness and Understanding
  • Appropriateness and Effectiveness
  • Leadership and Governance
  • Capacity and Capability.

Details on many initiatives funded by the Australian Government can be found on the Department of Health program overview page. Details on a number of these projects are included in this section.

Other National Initiatives

Other projects and programs can also contribute to the care and outcomes of palliative care patients and their families. Some of these initiatives are also included in this section.

Last updated 17 January 2017